~Skammie~

Choices, Choices, Choices

Posted on: February 10/09

Life has been…not exactly grand. Everything is jumbled up and I STILL don’t know what my life is going to look like this year.

So from my last personal blog entry, I have decided to take a step back from Japan and concentrated on looking for lab work over the past few months. Interview rates have been slim: ~1 interview opportunity for every 10 resumes that I’ve sent out. And to add to that, those interviews have not successfully led to a job.

While that’s going on, I get news from a previous contact church in Japan inviting me to go and help out at their church for 3 months. No pay, but they will provide housing. Sounds like an ok deal right? I get my time in Japan and I don’t have to pay for housing. The only reason why I’m not there right now is because my parents need to confirm and reconfirm the trustworthiness of this church…and the Japanese side is not helping much so far with their delayed correspondence. 😦 It’s been almost a month since I last heard from them. I had been so sure that this opportunity was “the open door” from God, but now I am starting to think otherwise.

Over the last couple of weeks, I worked on my application for a technical diploma program starting in January 2010. This program is highly related to what I studied for my Bachelor’s degree, so I am pretty sure that I will get in. BUT!!! Having also been SO sure that I would get into JET last year, I did not have a solid back-up plan…and I am still sadly reaping the consequences now. 😦 Not wanting to repeat history and be left stranded for another year, I added in a back-up choice program. The only concern for this was that the 2nd choice program required 40 hours of volunteer work, which I lacked. So naturally, the next step was to inquire into helping out at the hospital as a volunteer. Good news! They have a position available! It should be a pretty fun one too because it’s going on bus trips with patients every week. I basically get to check out many places which I have never seen before!

But it gets even more complicated than that. On Friday, this pharmaceutical research company (which I sent my resume to back in October!) contacted me for an interview. Companies don’t get more efficient than this, because…On Sunday, I went for the first interview. On Tuesday, I got asked to go for a 2nd interview, which will happen on Thursday. Phew! Talk about speed hiring! Everything happened in only one week! You are probably thinking: “Great! It seems like Sarah is finally getting hired for a lab job!” But this is where you are wrong. Although I applied for a lab job, they decided during the 1st interview that I am not that suitable. They had another position opening: termed a “lab assistant”, but it’s really a lower position job that takes care of a lot of paperwork (inventory, shipping/receiving, and then glassware cleaning -.-“). It’s definitely not my top choice of “lab-related” work, so I am not sure if I should go for it or wait and hope with fingers-crossed that something else better comes up. *sigh*

Choices, choices, choices…and they are all overlapping time-wise. With the bank cutting back my part-time hours, I really need to find something new. I can’t stand to waste this year by working only 2 days a week until December! Oh, what to do?! ><

3 Responses to "Choices, Choices, Choices"

Hi

Thank you for your comment. That’s alot of tough choices… I hope you find the right one.

bahgae

I hope something works out for you =S
This economy is making things tough…I’m not sure I’ll have a summer job to pay the summer fees for my dorm. *sigh*

Have you thought about getting a master’s degree and possibly teaching in a field that interests you? If you have a knowledgable background in chemistry or something science related for instance, you can get certified in education and teach while you look for something better. The education field is where the jobs are at (besides healthcare). It would give you decent, steady pay and benefits — always something to think about.

Good luck and keep your head up!

Hi, Skammie

I am so glad to find such a good site about Takki. Be honest I only know your blog by watching the 25th birthday call audio/video clip. I am a fan of Takki and Takki only. I am leaving this message because I am begging your permission to give the right of the above mentioned video clip to others on web mainly a Chinese website with Takki fans. I hope you can grand me the right to pass to others. Thank you so much. Soon it’s going to be his 27th birthday. How time flies!

Leave a Reply

Calendar

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Top clicks

  • None

Around the World

Already served

  • 21,043 curious minds
